The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton
Publisher: Raven Books
Publication: Feb 8, 2018
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Summary:
At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

GOODREADS | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY

My thoughts

This is actually impressive for a debut novel!

A long and twisty sci-fi (or fantasy) thriller mystery that kept me at the edge of my seat. And while the ending felt kind of uneventful, I thought the journey to that ending had been worth the read. There really is more to the story and the blurb doesn’t do this book any justice!

Long, winding, and tiring, I kept on reading. Everything connects with each other and if you take good notes, you might just be in awe. It was well thought out and fortunately enough, I still remembered some bits while getting through this novel especially when I had a long hiatus before I got to the end of the story.

Unfortunately, the problem was the slow pacing. And since this was more of a plot driven story as opposed to a character driven story, it might just lead people to DNF the novel. I thought a character driven story would’ve been more interesting but at the same time, since the main character inhabits a different host (body), it could be messy. I mean, the main character does undergo a character development since he was introspective but the reader doesn’t know anything about the main character (for the most part) except his name. Although the character development did make sense near the end of the novel, I thought the slow intricate plot and the fact that the reader doesn’t know anything about Aiden Bishop (the mc) might turn some people off from reading the rest of the story. Unless of course, if the reader is still interested in finding Evelyn’s killer.

Now it took me a while to get into the story but eventually I couldn’t put it down. I really liked this book. The writing was brilliant (albeit wordy) because it was atmospheric and elegant. It definitely suited Aiden’s pov. I was in the mindset of trying to solve the murder through Aiden’s eyes. I was truly nervous for Aiden which means I was invested in this story.

However, this book is not without flaws. I don’t know if I just didn’t take good notes or if I wasn’t entirely paying attention but I did have some unanswered questions that can potentially be plot holes. For instance, the reader never will know the back story of the other players in this book. Also, HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILER: I know Daniel has only one host but he drowned. Does this mean he totally lost since he has no more body to host? Is this the reason why he wasn’t able to put a stop to Aiden and Anna before they faced Evelyn? I mean, I have no clue why Aiden was thinking about whether Daniel had woken up because he drowned. Additionally, who was the plague doctor working for (as well as Silver Tear)? Who were their superiors? Is this a time-travel novel or the after life? What the hell is this novel?

If you like weird books, I highly recommend this one.


Thanks for reading and have a good weekend!

Related image

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s