Review: Storm and Fury by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Storm and Fury (The Harbinger, #1)
Storm and Fury by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Publication: 06/11/2019
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Summary:
Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers.

When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…

GOODREADS | AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY

My thoughts

Among all of Jennifer’s characters in the Dark Elements series, I think my favorite is Trinity. I thought she was a compelling character that fits the main role in this story. I definitely like the author’s new characters and I enjoyed reading this spin-off. Most of all, I enjoyed reading about some cameos from the former series. Anyway, I liked this book but I didn’t love it enough to give it 4/5 stars.

The pacing just threw me off because I thought that this was going to be a fast-paced read but it eventually slowed down. Then chapter 30 was just filled with unnecessary smut (in my opinion) but not to the point that it made this book “new adult.’ This book’s still YA but chapter 30 was just too much filler for me. It felt like nothing was happening, except probably character development or the main character coming through all kinds of conclusions that could affect her future actions/decisions.

I didn’t enjoy this new spin-off as much as “The Darkest Star” but I feel like many readers would stay (read) for the cameos and spoilery stuff from the Dark Elements series. Needless to say, you have to read the Dark Elements series before this one (just a suggestion) because it would be much more “impactful” and entertaining if you’ve met some of these characters already. I just felt like the characters from the first series were the highlight of this book even if Trinity’s my fave character.

Overall, I would recommend this book to fans of JLA. This book ends in a way that opens up to a newer series, about the Harbringer which wasn’t addressed completely in this book. I am sure that JLA fans have something to look forward to next year.

I feel that the demographic for Storm and Fury are for fans of Twilight and JLA’s books. For newer readers, this might be a hit/miss so I’d recommend being open-minded before picking this up. This new release is best enjoyed when you want to read (for fun) without having to critically analyze characters, plot, etc. This is a fun and new YA release that teens would surely enjoy.

**Huge thanks to the publisher for providing access to this book in exchange for an honest book review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Published by Claire @bookscoffeeandrepeat

Filipino American YA book blogger. Coffee connoisseur. Fond of art, films, & music. Likes to read about antiheroes and villains.

2 thoughts on “Review: Storm and Fury by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: